By MARK CRISTANTE | Trip to Varadero, Cuba


I did report to sunwing rep at hotel.

You know me, I’m not one to complain

Past two trips with sunwing were outstanding and zero complaints.

As I mentioned, when I first got there on March 29

The toilet seat was broken and Let staff know.

Next day, the water from air conditioner was leaking and as I had my beach towel in washroom counter where it was leaking it was soaked. For the first 6 days, I went to get a new towel only to be told they don’t have any, so basically I used the same beach towel all week.

One day 5, I got a bad case of diarrhea from the food.

There were two elevators in the hotel and one one worked all week which resulted in long lineups and waiting. I eventually got tired of using it and used stairs all week.

The food was not great and the juice machine was down all week so they had juice out that tasted like it was powder mixed.

When I was researching on booing a resort one of the deal breakers was ensuring there was a gym and wifi on resort. I was told the wifi did not work in the hotel as was advertised so I had to walk to nearby resort called solimar which was inconvenient and not what I thought.

The gym was also at solimar so that meant I had to plan my days around going to that resort and than back to my resort to eat lunch and stay at my resort.

They really need to ensure people are aware of this as I wouldn’t have booked otherwise and probably would have booked solimar if price was within budget.

There was no soap or shampoo in room for my 6 and 7th day so couldn’t shower properly.

Forgot internet was down a day in half

I would never go to this resort or recommend it to anyone.

Not a 4 star, 3 at best.

Sunwing Response

Dear Mr Cristante,

Thank you for your patience while allowing Sunwing Vacations to look into your concerns. We understand how unsettling and upsetting it is when your much anticipated vacation was not everything you had imagined or expected, and we apologize that you felt that this time we did not meet your expectations. We wish to thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent travel experience. We sincerely appreciate your concerns, and understand the frustration you are feeling.

We understand that you had a number of issues at the Occidental Arenas Blancas Resort while you were holidaying with us, that affected your vacation enjoyment. We go to great lengths to make sure our customers have the best time possible when they are on holiday, but sometimes things do go wrong. We can’t turn back time, however bringing this to our attention means that we can look to prevent this happening to future customers.

In part of our responsibility, we ensure that your feedback is communicated to the hotelier, and can assure you that all accounts of feedback are carefully reviewed to always ensure that our suppliers are fulfilling their agreements, and meeting our expectations in the services that they are providing. To that end we have forwarded your concerns to the resort’s management for review, and they are very sorry for any inconvenience.

In view of the above mentioned issues, we are pleased to offer a monetary gratification in the form of a Future Travel Voucher that you will be able to redeem against a future holiday you book through Sunwing Vacations. Attached to this email there is a Future Travel Voucher valued at $75.00 CAD issued in your name. We would greatly appreciate if you acknowledge receipt of this email.

Please note that by receiving and utilizing this complementary Future Travel Voucher, you are hereby agreeing that further compensation is not forthcoming.

We truly appreciate how valuable your vacation time is, and how such unforeseen situations can deeply affect your experience. Despite the above, we hope that there were still aspects of your visit that you did enjoy, and we hope that in the future we will be able to renew your faith in our product, and the services of our fellow suppliers.


Share your story!

Had a great trip with the help of Just Travel Deals ?
Email it in (and any photo) to: info@justtraveldeals.ca